Tenacious DUI Lawyer in Chesapeake
Understand what DUI Penalties You Face
If you have been arrested for DUI in Virginia, you face substantial penalties if you are convicted. These include jail time and fines but other punishments are often handed down, possibly the most serious being having a criminal record. You should know that a DUI arrest is not the same as a DUI conviction and you have a right to a legal defense no matter what you are alleged of doing. Turn to our Chesapeake DUI lawyer and we can fight on your behalf.
J. Bouchard Law stands apart from other defense firms in that our lead attorney Julian Bouchard has experience as a former prosecutor. This experience he can put to use in working to outmaneuver the prosecution in your case to obtain a positive resolution to your case. Our firm knows how DUI cases work and how to beat your charges. Your goals are our priority, so turn to us when you have been arrested.
DUI Penalties in Virginia
While penalties can vary considerably based on your specific case, there are general ones which can be expected. Aggravating factors such as excessively speeding or having a blood-alcohol level more than twice the legal limit can make the punishments even worse.
Typical DUI penalties include:
Underage DUI—1-year license suspension, $500 fine and/or 50 hours of community service
First DUI—1-year license suspension, $300 fine, possible ignition interlock (IID) device
Second DUI--$500 fine or more, indefinite license revocation, 10 days to 1 year in jail
Third DUI—90 days to 6 months in jail, at least $1,000 in fines, possible seizure of your vehicle
Fourth DUI--$1,000 fine, at least 1 year in jail, possible seizure of your vehicle
It should be pointed out that refusing to take a chemical test of your breath or blood will result in an automatic suspension of your license, for a whole year if it is your first refusal.
Defending You with Skill
This does not mean you are without a defense to your charges. Our Chesapeake criminal defense attorney can contest your DUI charge on a number of grounds. If police stopped you without probable cause that you had committed a crime, your arrest could be deemed inadmissible and thrown out of court, meaning you would go free.
No matter what the details of your arrest are, you have rights that J. Bouchard Law can protect at all costs!
Speak with our firm right away to discuss your arrest during your free case evaluation!